Oregon Employers Must Allow Veterans Time Off

A new law signed by Governor Kitzhaber earlier this year requires Oregon employers to provide time off on Veteran’s Day to employees who are veterans.

To be eligible, the employee must have (a) served on active duty in the Armed Forces for at least six months, (b) received an honorable discharge, and (c) request Veteran’s Day off at least 21 days in advance.

Employers must respond to the employee’s request at least 14 days before Veteran’s Day by indicating whether the employee will receive time off and whether that time off will be paid or unpaid. The employer may require the employee to provide documentation establishing his or her status as an eligible veteran. The request may be denied if the employer can show that granting the request would cause a significant economic or operational disruption or undue hardship to the business. in those circumstance, teh employer must allow the employee another day off within the year to honor the holiday in addition to any other time of to which the employee is otherwise entitled.

Senate Bill 1 was introduced Jan. 14, 2013 and was signed into law by Gov. Kitzhaber April 4, 2013.

If you have questions regarding an employee’s eligibility or how to respond to an employee’s request for time off, please contact Jeremy Green or Heather Hepburn for further information.

 By Debbie Garcia

Related Posts
  • An Overview of Oregon’s Paid Leave Law Read More
  • Pregnancy & The Workplace – Making Accommodations Read More
  • Pay Equity – Making Sense Of A New Hiring, Promotion And Compensation Framework Read More